Skip to content

making his mark

July 7, 2009

09-june_2303-7209-june_2311-7209-june_2312-72
Today Lukas decided to really make his mark. He has been using the chalk and drawing a bit here and there but today he really decided it was time to go for it with the dark pink chalk. He made a bunch of marks on the art table, then he made a bunch on the chair, then a few on the ground, then he walked over to his trike and made a few on the wood part, then on the seat. Then he came over to me and made some marks on my shoes, then a few over here on the ground, then a few over there around the corner, etc etc, it went on an on. He was having such a great time seeing how the chalk responded to different surfaces and colors of things. It was hilarious!

I have never seen anyone so free with his art making. “I surely have a lot to learn” I thought as he drew some lines on the concrete then on my shoes and onto my foot, then looked at me and smiled, pleased with his work. This was pure process pure experimentation, no thought for finished product, no thought of where he was going next. My thoughts, of course, raced to ideas of where marks are supposed to go, “On the chalkboard of course” which also was full of marks. I fought my thoughts about this since of course it’s just chalk anyway but what is up with those thoughts? And wow kids know so much better than us where marks are supposed to go. 

It was so similar to tagging–and I wondered if maybe taggers have some unfulfilled one-year-old mark making to bring out, like maybe they never had the chance to do it when they were one. Or maybe they DID and they loved it so much they kept going. Who knows. I will say that I had so much delight from this mark making adventure and it seemed like it “marked” some sort of milestone for Lukas too.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Marilee permalink
    July 9, 2009 5:41 am

    Where’d you get the great looking trike! Oh, to be so free again to not care what or where you leave your mark!

    • karenhess permalink
      July 9, 2009 7:21 am

      I know! His mark making was amazing to watch!! All his toddler toys come from craigslist–if they are only going to be used for a year or less…this trike was already well loved!

      on 7/8/09 10:41 PM, comment-reply@wordpress.com at

  2. artie's friend permalink
    July 15, 2009 12:49 pm

    love that karen
    didnt know you were blogg’n
    if only all taggers used chalk…
    good for you for letting LK run his creative course

Leave a Reply

