Skip to content

are we in the box or out of the box? (or under the box?)

March 22, 2011

Since Lukas is three, we’ve been looking at (and attending) preschools. He went to a Montessori toddler class for a while a few times a week for 2 1/2 hours in the mornings, We loved it and it worked really well for him and us. But then, the Montessori preschool class that he “graduated” into seemed a little academic for a three year old like Lukas, who is already very verbal and into his “head”. The teachers were wonderful and the school was great, just the philosophy seemed so different from who we are right now. Also, the morning is the best time, I want him to be with me!

So I began to consider what our philosophy is. Many of the Waldorf principles appeal to me but I wasn’t sure if it would work for Lukas. Then I realized that all the Waldorf principles we incorporate at home work great for him. He really responds to a rhythmic day, he loves singing and music, celebrating the seasons, storytimes, lighting a candle and saying a verse after  dinner. (He also loves to say a verse himself and then he wants me to blow out the candle)

I decided to incorporate more of that into our days. We’re trying a play oriented daycare two mornings a week with three other kids (one of which is his best friend!) and the rest of the week, he’ll stay home (what a concept!) and I’m going to try out a Waldorf homeschool Kindergarten curriculum  for 3-6 year olds. Basically, it involves hanging out at home doing things like cleaning the house and gardening, hmm, stuff I do anyway, except it’s a little more organized around them helping you. From what I have tried already, it has created a satisfying, relaxing day at home with not as much rushing around.

If it works, I’ll keep doing it and add on older kid activities in the coming couple of years. If it doesn’t work out, I’ll have plenty of time to figure out Kindergarten somewhere else. We also still have my mom playing with him one afternoon a week and his beloved babysitter Ciara once a week to give me a little mama time. (Oh, and there’s always Scott too!) These things are such personal choices, everyone is going to have their own set of criteria. I hope we can hit on something that works for us. OK, let’s see what happens!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2011 9:46 am

    you’re so dedicated. what a great idea. it’s hard enough just to get through the day sometimes. im interested in hearing how this goes.

  2. March 22, 2011 1:08 pm

    Tough decisions! We’re researching preschools right now. So much to think about, it’s overwhelming!!!

  3. karen hess permalink*
    March 22, 2011 9:07 pm

    E, It is hard to get through the day sometimes. I’m trying to make it more fun for everyone, we’ll see how it all goes. You are my mama-time inspiration person. I am really making more time for stuff I like now thanks to your example. It’s not as intense as what you do, but it’s me! When do we get our matinee?
    K, So true! We we inspired in many positive ways by the last preschool and I am sure every part of the journey will leave us with something else beneficial. I don’t like to jump around too much, but I’m realizing it’s OK to change directions if needed!

  4. Deb permalink
    March 22, 2011 11:23 pm

    Great inspiring post!
    I love that you blog! Talise has been going to a Waldorf preschool a couple of mornings a week since last year (and still goes to her daycare once a week)… She loves it and I’m learning so much through it (being someone who has a tendency towards flitting around busily…vs creating steady rhythm…). I would love to hear about the Waldorf home schooling curriculum you found! AND make a play date. How is next week looking for ya? hugs, deb

    • karen hess permalink*
      March 23, 2011 9:47 am

      Hi D, next week would be great! Here or there? I’d love to hear more about the preschool Talise is attending. best times for us would be M, T afternoons or W, TH or F mornings. And of course weekends. I think we have something next wed morning though.

Leave a Reply

