Skip to content

smocking around

May 11, 2011

the purple garden smock

back buttons

Ah, you may have been wondering about the smock! It was finally finished this morning. There was a buttonhole issue, involving fabric pulling in a strange way when buttoned, I think due to the heavier fabric that I used. This was solved by sewing the buttons down since they don’t need to be functional anyway. I also added an extra line of elastic at the back, since the bias tape on the waist was making the elastic not stretch back very much and it didn’t fit like it was supposed to. Probably only Suzy Q has any idea what I’m talking about here…

So I wore it in the garden all morning, where the little guy and I did some more sheet mulching of our back lawn to make an indigo bed. I have been growing these little indigo plants from seeds and have nowhere to plant them, so it was decided to make a new space for them and hope for the best.

Next up on the sewing block, “bloomers”, which I am a little scared about because I have this orange linen fabric. What am I thinking? All I can say is that I am going to have some really fun gardening outfits! Heehee!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2011 8:04 am

    Oooh I love this one! Fantastic! I love anything with pockets, really, but this one looks amazing, well done!

    • karen hess permalink*
      May 13, 2011 10:41 am

      thanks! It was so fun to do! I am looking forward to checking out your kids clothing challenge progress when I have a second!!

Leave a Reply

