Skip to content

new shirt

July 4, 2011

Happy Fourth of July! This little shirt is finally done and coincidentally, It has a sort of Americana look to it. Hmmm… This shirt took a while. I had it cut out for a month or so, then finally made it, then it languished waiting for buttons and buttonholes since my buttonhole stitch doesn’t work on my machine. Something about having to go somewhere else (my Mom’s house) to make the buttonholes just slows me down! It was really fun to make this one though, I love the fabric, (even though Lukas probably likes the robot fabric more…) and all buttons were pilfered off Scott’s old shirts that are in the rag bag. Something about these little shirts is so cute! Next for L, it’s either a sunhat, more pants/shorts or a T-shirt.

The sewing around here is slow but steady. This shirt is done, the vintage dress almost done (more on that later this week) and there is another project in the works for sporting at rivertown revival. I have short bursts of time to work on these projects, either when babysitters are here or when Lukas is playing quietly. As such, I don’t have the momentum I used to have sewing, but also, I don’t get the burnout I always seemed to end up with after working 10 hours straight sewing on stuff. It’s quite something to be still sewing and still enthusiastic about the details after four months of doing it consistently. Since I know I’ll be back again later, I can take my time, I don’t feel the need to rush to finish. This always made me tired and led to mistakes. Well, I still make mistakes, but when I arrive fresh the next day, they don’t effect my later work. (Even while writing this post, I just stopped and attended to a kid who fell out of bed!)

Hemingway said you should stop writing when you have more to say so you can start again the next day. I think he is right on that one, applying it to all creativity. But, I would still power through to the bitter end if possible so I’m glad I’ve been forced into this new way. These short bursts are a more sane method of working for me and I’m so grateful I’ve been able to learn this new way!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Alise N Wonderland permalink
    July 4, 2011 7:22 am

    Cute! OH..I hate it when they fall out of bed! (Even at seven, it still happens to us once in a while) I guess eventually we learn not to roll too far.. I don’t know many adults who fall out of bed…:)

    • karen hess permalink*
      July 4, 2011 8:04 am

      Poor little guy! Great to see you guys yesterday!

Leave a Reply

