Skip to content

a briefing

November 7, 2011

cutting it out

the finished product...

I’m not sure why underwear seems like such a strange thing to sew yourself, but it does seem like it. However, kid underwear can be expensive and L is growing out of his old ones, so I thought I’d give it a try.

I had a bunch of organic knit fabric left from making pajamas and shirts so I took bright green fabric with green and orange thread and made these little underwear from this free pattern. I think little briefs are cute on him but Lukas wanted boxers (?) so we compromised with “boxer-briefs”. There was actually an option to make these with a “fly” in the front, but really, it didn’t seem like it was worth the trouble at this age, so I made the “fly-free” version. The pattern also suggests using old T-shirts for the fabric. You could get some really funny logos and imagery going if you did that. Maybe next time…

They didn’t take long but it was hard to do the suggested topstiching on my sewing machine so I skipped it. I was hoping the seams wouldn’t bother him and he said they didn’t but I am still thinking about a different seaming technique for the next pair anyway. Maybe some of you will now be inspired to make your own underwear! (Or at least your kids’ underwear!)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2011 6:19 am

    I agree that underwear seems like a weird thing to sew, but I have always wanted to try it. This post gives me hope that it can be cute. I love the idea of using tee shirts. There is nothing that would give me more pleasure than making underpants out of some tee shirts from past jobs.

    • karen hess permalink*
      November 8, 2011 9:34 am

      Thanks! The clothes you are making look cute!

Leave a Reply

