Skip to content

my first sweater!

November 23, 2011

hanging with the gourds

Perhaps you’ve been wondering what happened to the purple sweater I was knitting. I finished it a while ago but it’s hard to photograph yourself! What’s that you say? Oh yes, my husband is a photographer! So photographs were finally taken today! Lukas and I ran around outside, weeded the leeks and lounged by the gourds while Scott took some photos. This sweater is so warm and toasty, I just love it. It was fun to make, and though I think it might pill up due to the wool/acrylic content as opposed to just wool, (acrylic making it machine washable) I still am glad I made it and love it! I am wearing it with a scarf made by local Sonoma County weaver Marta Shannon, a naturally dyed organic top underneath made by Tinctoria and some cutoff tights as armwarmers. You might spy Lukas in the background inside the late fall/early winter remains of his gourd teepee! I highly recommend this sweater pattern, it is a great one!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2011 9:57 am

    It’s lovely! And purple is a kick-ass color on you… 🙂

    • karen hess permalink*
      November 24, 2011 8:50 pm

      thanks Alia! I do love purple! Hope to see you this weekend…

  2. December 10, 2011 10:04 am

    ooo, yes! I’m working on this pattern right now too (though it’s in waiting while Christmas making is happening). I’m at the part where you just keep knitting around and around and AROUND! I can’t believe how easy it is to knit a sweater and how silly I was to wait so long to try it. Yours is lovely…really like the color you chose!

    • karen hess permalink*
      December 10, 2011 10:20 am

      Thank you Ashton! You are going to love the sweater; it’s very warm. And it’s great evening knitting, especially in January!

Leave a Reply

