Skip to content

positive spinning

December 15, 2011

Some have lovingly chastised me for being too positive in this space. Let me explain. When I became a stay-at-home mother, I had been working outside the home for almost 20 years. It was hard switching from 20 years of  doing work outside the home and being semi-spontaneous, (semi-, because I do have a stepson who was a teenager for the past decade…) to having a little one depending on me for so much. Being at home 24/7 with a toddler can be challenging sometimes, and the main way I stay as much in the happy zone as possible during these times is by focusing on positive things.

And so of course life is not perfect all the time.

However, I am very grateful for the fact that I am a mother to this hilarious, sweet and wacky little one, partly because he has altered me in many positive ways I could never have done myself. And I’m grateful to be able to be at home with him. And, as time passes, I feel like I am growing into this new profession of “mama” and am learning so much from other mamas and dads and of course from the little one himself.

Every mother has her own set of challenges, depending on her circumstances. And we all have happy times—some incredibly happy times. I need and want to remember and experience those times. So I practice finding beauty in the everyday, in the details of my life as it is right now.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kimberly permalink
    December 16, 2011 10:23 am

    I love reading your blog, especially because it is so positive! Life can get crazy and sometimes with my four it is so easy to slip into negative thinking that anything that can keep you upbeat and happy is a good thing. Keep being positive, it not only helps you, you’re helping others, too!

  2. karen hess permalink*
    December 16, 2011 1:55 pm

    Thank you Kimberly! That is so good to hear and especially from a Mama of four. Hope you all have a fun and cozy holiday season!

Leave a Reply

