Skip to content

new year no school

January 6, 2012

making a cardboard house

The little guy is now four and we are still wanting to homeschool. We are planning on trying it this coming school year since his birthday is right after the cutoff date for kindergarten so he can’t go anyway.

I first came across this concept in college (over 20 years ago!) and always wanted to homeschool my kids because it sounded so expansive and freeing for them. I wished I had been able to begin pursuing my interests when I was young and still living with my parents.

I’ve read about homeschooling and unschooling over the years and Scott and I have realized we are not the kind of people who want a classroom at home either so we would be taking more the unschooling path.

Scott is really enjoying John Taylor Gatto’s The Underground History of American Education right now and oddly enough, in the 90’s they were both featured in the same issue of the Sun Magazine. Scott with a photo and Gatto with an article.

In the past couple of weeks Lukas has had a creativity explosion and has made some sort of shift in his playing to more of a kid exploring how his world works. One example is that he wanted to paint a piece of paper brown to match some other cardboard he had, so I showed him how he could mix red and green paint since we didn’t have brown paint. He spent quite a lot of time painting various pieces of paper brown. Then he built a little cardboard house with the pieces, figuring out how to tape it so it stayed up and adding a door and window. I noticed that just this situation allowed him to learn color mixing, building, problem solving and learning to ask for help.

brown

There are so many situations like this. And, our town is full of mentors for when he has questions I can’t answer. With unschooling, he can learn things on his own timetable, fully explore what he’s looking into and connect with others focusing on the same topics. I know it can be challenging, but I’m looking forward to trying it out!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

