Skip to content

change is good

January 27, 2012

he paid

So going with the money theme again, Lukas bought his first thing the other day: a mocha for me at Bus Stop Coffee!

He was playing with the change jar one morning and asked how much a mocha was. He sees me drinking them over at the café while he plays in the outdoor toy area sometimes. I remember doing little money worksheets in kindergarten and having them be easy so I realized he was ready to figure this out.

So I said, “Ten of these big silver ones with the stripes on the edge,” and set aside a quarter. He looked at it and seemed serious, so I drew 10 circles and he filled them in with quarters.

Then he took them all and put them in his pocket and said, “let’s go to the coffee cart, I will pay.” It was so sweet! What could I do, we went to the coffee cart, and he paid. Unschooling is underway…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2012 9:53 am

    that is so sweet and adorable!

    • karen hess permalink*
      January 31, 2012 11:17 am

      He surprises me with these things! I always forget they are growing and think it’s going to be like how they are right now forever. Then he buys me a drink…

Leave a Reply

